"Recording some of the major events of your life", Andrews County Clerk serves as the clerk and custodian for many records. Some of the records include:
- Assumed names
- Court cases
- Marks and brands
- Marriage license
- Military discharge (DD214)
- Real property and land records
- Wills for safekeeping
The majority of these records are permanent; therefore, making the Clerk's Office a vault for historical documents dating back to 1881. Various records are 'closed records', meaning they are not for public viewing, and it is our responsibility to protect these records for you and your heirs.
Clerk of Various Courts
The Clerk also serves as the clerk of various courts which include county court for:
- Commissioners' court
- Mental health
- Misdemeanor cases
Although the law governs what the Clerk's Office can and cannot do, it is our goal to serve all those who utilize this office to the best of our ability.
Official Public Records
The County Clerk's Office is accessible to the General Public for general information and research of records/cases kept in this office.
Filing fees for recording in the Official Public Records are generally $26 for the first page and $4 for each additional page per document. There is an additional fee of $0.25 per name in excess of a total of 5 names.
The cost for copies of public records filed in the Clerk's Office is $1 per page and $5 for certification per document.
The County Clerk and Staff will not conduct searches that are not authorized by statue. The record search authorized by statue is Federal Tax Liens, Texas Property Code 14.004(d). The Error & Omissions Insurance of the County Clerk only covers actions of the County Clerk and Staff, which are statutorily required duties. Therefore, it is in the best interest of the County, as well as the Clerk individually, to refrain from performing any action (including records searches) which is not legally required.
The fee for a Certified Copy of Birth Certificate is $23 (Abstracts of Birth from all counties in Texas can be obtained for the same fee.).
The fee for a Certified Copy of Death Certificate is $21 for the first and $4 for each additional copy. Death must have occurred in Andrews County.
The fee for a Marriage License is $82; $182 if both applicants have out of State ID. The fee for an Informal Marriage License is $52. A valid driver's license or other valid government-issued identification and Social Security card for each applicant is required. (The name on the identification and Social Security card must match exactly, if not please provide additional identification.) Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Marriage licenses are issued weekdays from 8 am until 3:30 pm. The fee for Certified Copy of Filed Marriage License, which was purchased in Andrews County is $21.
The following applications may be printed, completed, and mailed. A cashier's check made payable to Andrews County Clerk in the amount indicated on the Application and a copy of the requestor's valid driver's license must also be included. Money Orders will not be accepted.
- Application for Copy of Birth or Death Certificate (PDF)
- Application for Copy of Marriage Certificate (PDF)
Assumed Name Certificates
This office provides blank forms to be completed by the business owner, notarized, and then returned for filing. A Notary must complete the acknowledgment on the front and back of the document. The filing fee is $26 for the first page and $4 for each additional page per document.